Agribusiness Africa Conference – Speakers

Session 1 

Who owns the value in the agriculture value chain?

Chris Potgieter 
– Speaker
Head of private client securities, Old Mutual Wealth

Prof Johann Kirsten
 – Panel moderator
Director, Bureau for Economic Research

Lucien Jansen
– Panellist

Mokgethi Tshabalala – Panellist
GM, Thebe Agroprocessing

Session 2

The missing middle in agriculture

Dr Theo de Jager – Speaker & Panellist
President, World Farmers’ Organisation

Mandla Nkomo – Speaker & Panellist
Regional MD for Southern Africa, Solidaridad

Dr Mmatlou Kalaba – Panel moderator
Economist, UP

Dawie Maree – Panellist
Head of information &marketing, FNB Agriculture

Jolene Dawson 
– Panellist
Development Partnerships Global Agriculture Lead, Accenture

Session 3

Towards a fairer, freer and friendlier trading environment

Dessy Choumelova – 
Speaker & Panellist
Counsellor for agriculture, food safety & climate change, EU delegation to South Africa

Dr Shadrack Ralekeno Moephuli
 – Speaker & Panellist
President, ARC

Wandile Sihlobo
– Panel moderator
Head of Agribusiness Intelligence, Agbiz

François L Baird
– Panellist
Founder, FairPlay

Tatiana Mata
– Panellist
Agribusiness & Rural Development Specialist, Entrepreneur & Visionary, Mozambique

Session 4

Sustainable food systems: trading fairly, ethically and profitably

Doaa Abdel-Motaal
 – Speaker & Panellist
Executive Director, Rockefeller Foundation Economic Council on Planetary Health, Oxford Martin School

Michelle Adelman
 – Speaker & Panellist
Founder & MD, Accite Holdings

Denene Erasmus 
– Panel moderator
Editor, Farmer’s Weekly

Nic Bronkhorst – Panellist

Tshepo Maeko – Panellist
GM, new business development, Omnia

Speakers are subject to change



Speaker introductions

Ray van Rooyen
Head of AgriBusiness: Rest of Africa, Absa
Introducing Pieter Geldenhuys, Keynote speaker day 1

Koos Nel
Head of Agri Market, Old Mutual Retail Affluent
Introducing Prof Joann Kirsten in Session 1

Andries Mahlase
Manager Business Development, Santam
Introducing Prof Ruth Hall, Keynote speaker day 2

Nico Groenewald
Head of Agribusiness, Standard Bank SA
Introducing the Presidency, day 2

Neel Rust
CEO, Laeveld Agrochem
Introducing Dr Doaa Abdel-Motaal in Session 4

Nic Bronkhorst
Introducing Michelle Adelman in Session 4