Agri writers honour farmers

The Agricultural Writers Association, northern branch, has announced its farmer, agriculturalist and new entrant to commercial farming of the year for 2013.

Agri writers honour farmers
- Advertisement -

They are:

Farmer of the year:

  • Carrot giant Vito Rugani (Gauteng)
  • Vegetable farmer Jameson Nesane (Limpopo)
  • Soya and maize farmer Fanus Cornelius (Mpumalanga)
  • Dairy farmer William Khourie (North West)

- Advertisement -

Agriculturalist of the year:

  • Dr André Jooste, CEO of Potatoes SA (Gauteng)
  • Dr Neil Miles, senior researcher at the South Africann Sugarcane Research Institute (KZN)
  • Karin Hannweg, senior biotechnologist at the Agricultural Research Council (Mpumalanga)

The new entrant to commercial farming for the northern branch is Ester Prehn.

The national winners will be announced on 8 November.