Top 5 SA olive oils announced

Extra virgin olive oils were recently lauded as the best of the 2016 harvest at the Absa Top 5 Olive Oil awards held at Tokara in Stellenbosch.

- Advertisement -

Jacinda Steyn (Kransfontein), Briony Coetsee (Marbrin), Doug Walker (Absa), Catherine Anderson (Gabriëlskloof), Louise Rabie (Willow Creek), Sean White (The Greenleaf Olive Company). Photo by: Andrew Gorman

The coveted Absa Top 5 accolades were awarded to Gabriëlskloof EVOO, Greenleaf EVOO, Kransfontein Coratina EVOO, Marbrin Olive Growers Intense EVOO and Willow Creek Directors’ Reserve EVOO.

The competition, which provides a platform for the SA olive oil industry to showcase its very finest oils, was instituted in 2013 as an extension to the annual SA Olive Awards.

The top performers, selected from the ranks of the highest-scoring SA Olive Awards medal winners, are eligible to make the Top 5 cut. Some 10 finalists are selected from this pool by a team of expert tasters and narrowed down to the Top 5.

- Advertisement -

This year the judge’s panel comprised international olive oil maestro, Dr Antonio G Lauro and eight members of the SA Olive tasting panel: Leonard Arangies, Robert Claasens, Gerrie Duvenage, Reni Hildenbrand, Birgitta Hofmeyr, Benedetta Lami, Louise Rabie and Kelly White.