Overberg’s Farm Worker of the Year

(Left to right): Jayson Abrams (Commercial Manger: Total SA), Joyene Isaacs (HOD: Western Cape Department of Agriculture and Rural Development), Marthinus Farao, SAPO Trust, Riviersonderend, the overall winner and Lofty Eksteen (Shoprite).
Photo: Courtesy of Jan Greyling, AMG Media & Promo

He’s a middle management employee at the SAPO Trust, established by the Plant Improvement Institute on the 35ha Tygerhoek Farm, rented from the Western Cape department of agriculture.

The Hopkins Calvert Award for exceptional achievement also went to a worker from Riviersonderend – Renaldo Davids of Hansieskloof.

The category winners were:

  • General Worker – Hendrik Lakay (Môrelig, Bredasdorp); Martin Julies (Boontjieskraal, Caledon); and Jason Diedericks (Warmoeskraal, Caledon).
  • Animal Reproduction – Gavin Jaars (Hansieskloof, Napier); Willem Foster (Boontjieskraal, Caledon); and Rolan Mauritz (Warmoeskraal, Caledon).
  • Technical Operator – Francois Hansen (Diepgat, Caledon); Flip Hendricks (SAPO Trust, Riviersonderend); and Daniel Pieters (Hansieskloof, Napier).
  • Tractor Driver – Dawie Tobias (Driefontein, Caledon); André Jacobs (Schietpad, Napier); and Leon Jumat (Warmoeskraal, Caledon).
  • Administrative Staff – Daniëlle May (SAPO Trust, Riviersonderend) and Renaldo Davids (Hansieskloof, Napier).
  • Junior Management – Randell Ellis (Cordale Plase, Caledon); German Hendricks (Langhoogte, Caledon); and Johannes August (Floraland, Bredasdorp).
  • Middle Management – Marthinus Farao (SAPO Trust, Riviersonderend); Ivan Mtotsana (Grootvlakte, Riviersonderend) and Chaline Dramat (Remhoogte, Caledon).

Farao will represent the Overberg at the Western Cape Department of Agriculture and Rural Development and Checkers Farm Worker of the Year gala evening in October.

Follow the event on Twitter #AMW21