Two recipients receive Agbiz Honorary Award

At the South African Agriculture Business Chamber’s (Agbiz) biannual congress held in Somerset West recently, two recipients were awarded the Agbiz Honorary Award for their services to agriculture.

- Advertisement -

The first recipient, Professor Mohammad Karaan, is the Dean of the Faculty of Agrisciences at Stellenbosch University. He was awarded for his excellent service to the South African agribusiness sector.

Recently reappointed for a second five-year term as a member of the National Planning Commission, Karaan was instrumental in writing the National Development Plan chapter on shaping an integrated and inclusive rural economy.

The second recipient, Mr Hans van der Merwe, is the former CEO of AgriSA and received the award for his exceptional service to organised agriculture in South Africa.

- Advertisement -

According to Agbiz, Van der Merwe played a major role in South Africa’s transition to democratic rule in the 1990s, as well as in the liberalisation of agricultural markets.